Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Although this book is part of a trilogy, each book is a stand-alone story in its own right.
Martha Farfield was companion and housekeeper to Lady Dunham. Her life would be complete if it was not for the interference of Lord Dunham's man of business, Charles Anderton. At every opportunity, he undermines her and causes annoyance, Martha cannot control her anger when in his company.
Charles Anderton is smitten by Martha Fairfield, well, he was when they first met. He blundered his first encounters with her and now she openly dislikes him. Every time he tries to help, he just creates further problems for them both. He needs to ease the tension but has no idea how.
Laura Atkinson is on the run. She was a prostitute for Baron Kersal and knew about his illegal activity. When the Baron's trial collapses and the others involved in the scheme start to go missing, Laura realizes her life is in danger. She seeks out the only man that she has ever trusted, the only man she thinks can keep her safe.
Alfred Peters is a Bow Street Officer. He is alone in the world and although not happy with his lot, knows that in his employment, the casualty rate is quite high. He is resigned to keeping himself to himself. There was once one woman...but wishing just means less concentration, which is foolish in the extreme.
The four are destined to be thrown together in a way that will turn all of their lives upside down. None will come away unscathed from the encounter.
©2014 Audrey Harrison (P)2016 Audrey Harrison
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Erin on 05-03-16

Trilogy Wrap-Up

There's good and bad, love and loss, justice and tragedy. Another well-written installment wraps up this very good series. I do wish there would've been a bit more detail as to what specifically happened to the bad guys, but that is my only complaint. Excellent narration pairs well with the writing. Great Epilogue. Don't miss this trilogy.

I received this audiobook in exchange for an unbiased review. The number of stars is based on where I believe this audiobook rates with other audiobooks of the same type, length and general feel-- not where it rates in comparison to all audiobooks of all time.

Read More Hide me

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Maggie Tuliver on 06-08-16

The end of a good trilogy

This is the final installment of the Inconvenient Trilogy by Ms. Harrison and it satisfyingly ends the story she was building since the first book. Some secondary storylines and characters from the previous books took front stage in this one, and we are able to read about Martha and Charles as well as about Laura and Alfred, whose relationships already drew the readers’ interest in the trilogy.
There is, however, a difference in this book that makes me doubt how exactly to rate it. If the first book had realistic outcomes mixed with fiendish twists and turns typical of a good romance, and the second book had a more lively and funny tone to it with underlying darkness beneath, this third book has a dose of realism and a dose of darkness that I can’t decide if it’s cliché or just real, but made me reel. I will not enter into details of this or I would spoil the story, but I have to say it had an unexpected twist that I didn’t see coming because I felt it diverges from the lighthearted genre of the trilogy.
The characters, as always, are rich and interesting, most of the plot is composed of misunderstandings between them or their inability to see or accept the other as he or she is, and with a good writing it turned out good and entertaining. As an end of a trilogy, I would certainly read it and recommend it after the first two books.

I was given a copy of the audiobook to review and I would recommend this trilogy to everyone who enjoys regency novels. The narration is outstanding with an excellent range of voice and tone, and I would like to thank Elizabeth Klett for narrating this trilogy and making it even more enjoyable.

Read More Hide me

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Linda on 02-03-17


If you like your books to be predictable (which is good if you want an assured easy listen) then this will suit you. It was interesting to see the development of the plot with the characters from previous books, but it did become a bit formulaic. Spoiler alert - for those of you who like a 100% happy ending for all characters you will be disappointed with the ending for one of the couples.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By A D. on 04-30-16

Regency romance delight

Audrey Harrison has delivers a fantastic regency romance that involves characters other than the aristocracy. She has created realistic characters one can relate to despite the historical backdrop. Her attention to historical detail adds texture. Elizabeth Klett has a wonderful narrative style that matches this book perfectly. Overall enjoyable!

This audiobook was provided by the author, narrator, or publisher at no cost in exchange for an unbiased review courtesy of AudiobookBoom dot com.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Kerry on 11-23-16

Good series

I enjoyed this series although I found this one a little too long. It was easy listening with a great narrator. The story surprised me as something happened to make it less predictable. I really did like the way it finished with a prologue.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc