Regular price: $30.79

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She never expected to marry....
Annabel was about to take the veil to become a nun, when her mother suddenly arrived at the abbey to take her that she can marry the Scottish laird who is betrothed to her runaway sister! She knows nothing about being a wife, nothing about how to run a household, and definitely nothing about the marriage bed.
He never expected to fall in love....
From the moment Ross MacKay sets eyes on Annabel, he is taken with his shy, sweet bride...and the fact that she's blessed with lush curves only makes him utter his own prayers of thanks. But when an enemy endangers her life, he'll move the Highlands themselves to save her. For though Annabel's not the bride he planned for, she's the only woman he desires....
©2013 Lynsay Sands (P)2013 HarperCollinsPublishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By 🇺🇸🌸DARA on 06-28-13

So Adorably Sweet!

This book is such a sweet and tender Highland romance. If you enjoy Cinderella type stories then you will enjoy this one. This book was romantic, funny and because it had a bit of mystery kept my interest throughout. It's really hard not to like this book.

The narrator was wonderful. She did a fantastic job with all the voices and made the listen fast and enjoyable.

This one is too sweet not to give it a listen.

Read More Hide me

20 of 21 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By 🔹🔹🔹CAROLYN 🔹🔹🔹 on 06-26-13


I loved LS's Argeneau vampire books and I love love love a braugh sexy hunky Highlander in a kilt so I preordered this and waited with baited breath and great expectations.

This book was an entertaining, enjoyable, light-hearted fun listen, that had it's moments, however it was all just a bit too 'nice' for my personal taste as I like my Highlanders broody, dark and sexy however Ross was kind, thoughtful and trusting but more of a Prince Charming type. Annabel was sweet, naive, likeable and funny as one minute she is about to be an English Nun then the next minute she's a married woman heading to her husband's castle in Scotland.

There's everything you'd expect from a LS listen - a nice plot with a who, what and why question to ponder over, nice characters, nice H/H but I felt it lacked any sexual tension, awareness or build-up that results in a frantic passion filled chapter or two as desire ignites between them - infact I think this could almost have been a YA listen. The plot seemed to happily meander the listener along but it just didn't raise my blood pressure any (well, maybe that's a good thing tho').?

Narrator did a great job with the many voices required of her.

Worth a credit? If you're looking for a light, enjoyable, easy going listen then Yes you won't be disappointed and for most of us LS's fans it'll be an auto download anyway.

Read More Hide me

22 of 25 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By D. Mark on 09-13-17

A nice story, but not a romping Highland yarn.

Any additional comments?

This book is easy listening at its best (you really don't have to pay that much attention to it). Annabel and Ross get along from the start, and don't have a disagreement throughout the entire book. She gets along with his soldiers, his clan, his family... it's all just a bit blah. To liven things up, Annabel and Ross both get whacked over the head a few times by a mysterious attacker, then some older women do too for good measure. Surprisingly, in spite of sustaining several head injuries within just a few days, Annabel does not seem to have any lasting damage. Ross doesn't seem too bothered that his wife keeps getting attacked, mostly when she happens to be naked. He's super-chilled, and nothing really stirs him up- except annoying sisters.

I was surprised when I had only two chapters left of this book, because it felt like the story hadn't yet got going. If you're looking for hot-blooded, passionate highlanders, look elsewhere. This is my first experience of Lynsay Sands, and I'm not sure I'll be seeking out her other titles.

The book is ably read by Mary Jane Wells, who is always a pleasure to listen to. The only problem I had was that she pronounced plaid as "played" rather than "plad". I have noticed this is another book she narrated with a Scotsman in it, but then the work was hardly used and therefore easily ignored. Here it crops up all the time, so was much more distracting.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By titchibee on 01-11-18

Bit of fun

A bit cringey in some places but boy did I enjoy this. I laughed loud and hard , I loved this book.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kylie M. Stead on 08-25-17

Amazing story

I loved this story and it's twists and turns.
Now whilst loving this audiobook I do with the lovely lady reading this had the true Scottish brogue. But then again for the wee English lass the story was about it would have been a little hard.
Enjoyable and keeps you enthralled. Looking forward to more.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews