After the Fire : Through Hell and Back

  • by Felice Stevens
  • Narrated by Kale Williams
  • Series: Through Hell and Back
  • 10 hrs and 2 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A single bullet destroyed the dreams of Dr. Jordan Peterson. With his lover dead, Jordan descends into an endless spiral of self-destruction that nearly costs him his friends, his career and his life. When Jordan finds himself working closely with the aloof Lucas Conover, the investment banker's mysterious past and unexpected kindness shocks him back into a life and emotions he'd thought lost forever.
The betrayal by the foster brother he'd worshiped taught Lucas Conover never to trust or believe in anyone. Living a solitary life doesn't free him of the nightmare of his youth; it reinforces his belief that he would never fall in love. When the death of one of his clients forces him to work closely with Dr. Jordan Peterson, he meets a person whose suffering exceeds his own. Though Jordan rejects his effort to help, something within Luke pushes him discover more about the first man to ever get under his skin. As Luke lets down his guard and Jordan lets go of his pain, desire takes control. Each man must come to terms with past struggles if they are to create a future together. And learning to trust in themselves and love again after tragedy and a lifetime of pain, may be the only thing that saves them in the end.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

great finish

slow to start but great finish same with the first book. want to hear the next though
Read full review

- Joe Dellinger

Love this story!

I’m an extremely finicky audiobook listener, so take this info for what it’s worth…what doesn’t work for me is usually fine for the masses. This narrator wasn’t bad, he just isn’t my favorite. There wasn’t too much of a distinction between characters. And the voices I hear in my head don’t match with his voice…Ash’s voice for example should have been deeper and rougher. He did express the emotions of the book well so if you’re not as picky as me you will love this performance.

Whew...I’m not gonna lie, I was hot pissed at Felice for what happened to Keith in book 1. And I had reservations about reading this book because I really wasn't ready for Jordan to move on. And apparently he wasn't ready to move on either. His pain in this book was palpable and I felt it to my soul. It was Luke’s kick in the a$$ that started to wake him up and make him human again.

Jordan becomes more likable in this book than in the first. Those that are ash fans probably didn't care for the way he treated ash in the first book and some of that continues here. You really start to see him for the amazing man he is though as you watch him struggle to recover and fall in love again.

Luke was hiding behind a mountain of hurt. He had no idea what ash went through and resented him for it...for a long time. He became a shell of a man - not unlike ash. He really just wanted someone to share his life and love him and be there for him through his life. He had major abandonment issues (not unfounded).

While this story will bring you to your knees a couple of times there are so many great things about it. We still have the great characters - Wanda, Esther, Rachel, Mike and lots of drew and ash. The anticipation of Ash and Luke coming face to face was tangible. I was sitting on pins and needles waiting. Wow! We got hope for a new young character. Of course, there was a dog :). There was a lot of love and healing in this book. And the writing was as good as the rest of Ms. Stevens books! Can't wait for Brandon’s book!!
Read full review

- Christina Wade

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-11-2017
  • Publisher: felice stevens