A New Day Rising : Red River of the North

  • by Lauraine Snelling
  • Narrated by Callie Beaulieu
  • Series: Red River of the North
  • 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The dream of their own farmstead and a good life in America had brought Roald and Ingeborg Bjorklund across the Atlantic to pioneer the virgin prairie of Dakota Territory. But Roald's tragic disappearance in a winter storm turned Ingeborg's dreams into a living nightmare. Against nearly impossible circumstances and overwhelming grief, she struggles to keep the farm and her family together. When spring appears, Roald's distant cousin, Haaken, arrives to help with the heavy field work, and Ingeborg is able to once again concentrate her efforts on home and children. After the bleak winter, she cannot ignore the joy that Haaken brings to their lives or the attraction she begins to feel toward him. When Roald's brother from Norway also arrives to help the family, things become even more complicated around the simple prairie dwelling.


What the Critics Say

"[A New Day Rising is] distinguished for its detailed understanding of farm life on the prairie, which Snelling never romanticizes." (Booklist)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Immigrant History Retold

Laurianne Snelling is at the top of historical fiction. I enjoyed and appreciated this faith-based writing. The Red River of the North has long been one of my favorite series, and I was thrilled to listen to it audibly. She paints such a clear picture of what immigrant settlers life must have been like on the prairie, creating a curiosity and desire to visit the area someday!
Read full review

- Jill Buchholz


Excellent narration. I enjoyed every minute of this story. Can't wait for more from this amazing series.
Read full review

- Lacy B Loyd

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-27-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio