A Duke to Remember : Season for Scandal

  • by Kelly Bowen
  • Narrated by Ashford McNab
  • Series: Season for Scandal
  • 11 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Love takes the stage...
Elise deVries is not what she seems. By night the actress captivates London theatergoers with her chameleonlike ability to slip inside her characters. By day she uses her mastery of disguise to work undercover for Chegarre & Associates, an elite agency known for its discreet handling of indelicate scandals. But when Elise is tasked to find the missing Duke of Ashland, she finds herself center stage in a real-life romance as tumultuous as any drama.
Noah Ellery left the glamour of the London aristocracy to pursue a simpler life in the country. He's managed to avoid the intrigue from his past life - that is, until he lays eyes on Elise. From the moment he notices her intelligence and courage, Noah realizes there's more to this beautiful woman than meets the eye. But when Elise reveals her real identity - and her true feelings for him - the runaway duke must confront the past he left behind...to keep the woman he loves forever.

More

What the Critics Say

"Fans of Julia Quinn and Sarah MacLean will adore Kelly Bowen!" (Lauren Willig, New York Times best-selling author)
"Where have you been all my life, Kelly Bowen? If Julia Quinn, Sarah MacLean, and Lisa Kleypas were to extract their writing DNA, mix it in a blender, and have a love child, Kelly Bowen would be it." (HeroesandHeartbreakers.com)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Love this author, story and narrator!

What a great story. I really like this author a lot! I love the way she writes her female characters all beautiful, strong, smart and witty.

I loved Elise and Noah! They were fantastic together. They had great chemistry and the dialogue between these two was fantastic! Amazing.

The story line and plot was fantastic! He ended up making a great Duke! His parents, wow what jerks! I really liked how his speech problem was written. I love the "fixers" that part of the story line is great too.

This was such a fantastic story. As was Duke of My Heart! Which is by far my favorite book I have read this year!

I want to see more Kelly Bowen books on audible please! Looking forward to the next book in this series.

As for the narration, well I am a big Ashford McNab fan so it is a total bonus she is narration this series and is perfect for it!
Read full review

- Tracy T "Audible Addict!"

Fabulous book and fabulous narration..

I just knew I’d love this book as much as I loved Duke of My Heart. I just wish we didn’t have to wait so long in-between books.

Anyway, Noah and Elise was a fantastic couple and they had a rough time getting together because of his hatred for his parents, he didn't want anything to do with the Dukedom, which was understandable to a point. Good grief, WTH was his parents thinking sending him to that place just because he couldn’t speak, or wouldn’t speak. And, wow, Elise was described as one of the best trackers and scouts for the British Army. That was awesome.

The instant chemistry between the two of them was amazing but that kind of changed when Noah found out she was there to take him back to London. He was so hurt you could just feel it. Ms. Bowen writes with such feeling and emotion. However, one reviewer said something about how there was no real chemistry between the two of them and their devotion was so quick after their meeting. I didn’t see that at all. There was chemistry from the time they met and all through the story. AND Elise admitted to Miss Moore that she loved Noah but knew it would go nowhere and she would have to give him up. And that was at about 75% of the story. There was no insta-love, except in their minds, so I’m glad I didn’t pay any attention to that review, because I absolutely hate insta-love. There was none of that in this book. There was insta-lust, some great sex, attempted murder, a trip back to London, plans to get the Duke back into society, more sex, meeting with Mr. Miller (which was a terrifically funny part of the book,) her leaving and him going after her, and at 99% they confessed their love for each other.

I gotta tell ya’ I really like the business “Duchess,” Elise, Alex, sweet little Roddy and King have going on here. There’s just no problems they can’t solve, and I love how they go about it. I would have liked for the story to go on a little longer, though. I would like to have seen Noah go back to see his friends in Nottingham, and teach the arrogant Baron and his bitchy daughter a thing or two, and see some kind of ending to his relationship with his mother. I just felt like there were things left unanswered. BUT still I loved this book. I can’t wait until January when the next book comes out.

There was some awesome explicit sex and a few swearwords.

As to the narrator: I love Ashford McNab! She does great men’s voices and has a wonderful reading voice and terrific emotions. You can’t ask for more than that.
Read full review

- Trish R.

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-26-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio