The Philosophy of Masonry in Five Parts

  • by Roscoe Pound
  • Narrated by Adam Hanin
  • 2 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Pound begins his discourse with an examination of what he deems to be the four major systems of Masonic philosophy. Two of these are intellectual systems: First that of Preston, whose key word is Knowledge; second, that of Krause, whose key word is Morals. Two of these are spiritual systems: First that of Oliver, whose key word is Tradition; and second, that of Pike, whose key word is Symbolism. Pound concludes with an exploration into the simple origins of secret societies and how they led up to the modern Masonic fraternity.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Required reading for all Masons

Roscoe Pound was the Dean of Harvard Law School for much of the early twentieth century and a prolific writer. Pound was also a distinguished Mason and collected here are his research findings into four of the most influential Masonic philosophers.

Brother Pound concisely presents both his historical findings on these four men and their individual philosophies in a way very easy to digest. Pound's goal was to answer the question, "What it means it actually mean to be a Freemason?" In my opinion, he answers it right here.
Read full review

- David S. Mathew

more for existing masons then those with curiosity

builds on knowledge I don't know thus not that impactful. though well written. if I set out to learn more of a kraft I knew it would have been helpful but it was not an introductory by any means.
Read full review

- Michael

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-27-2014
  • Publisher: Lamp of Trismegistus