The Mormon Mirage

  • by Latayne C. Scott
  • Narrated by Tamara Marston
  • 14 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Three decades after leaving the Mormon faith, Latayne Colvett Scott looks back to her original journey out of Mormonism and the reasons why she left. Revised and updated, this third edition of The Mormon Mirage presents both a fascinating inside look at Mormonism and new and formidable evidence against its claims and teachings.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A must read!

If you could sum up The Mormon Mirage in three words, what would they be?

Enlightening must read

What other book might you compare The Mormon Mirage to and why?

The God Makers and To Moroni with Love.
In The Mormon Mirage the author shares her growing disillusion with the prophet and the religion in a personal manner. It has very good information for anyone seeking to understand Mormonism. I recommend this book to Mormons.

What does Tamara Marston bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I get very caught up in the audio, more so that just reading..

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

A woman's journey from cult to true faith.

Any additional comments?

I suspect this book is on the Mormon church's do not read list. True faith does not discourage examination..

Read full review

- sally


I have listened to, or read, a number of books by ex-Mormons. This one is by far the best. She narrates a clear history of the LDS church and many of its changing beliefs. She gives solid and verifiable facts as to why LDS beliefs are a mirage, but she does so with great charity. She enabled me to understand the mind of a Mormon by speaking about her tremendous love for the LDS church and how difficult it was for her, and for other ex-Mormons, to leave the LDS church. I have learned much from this book. Extremely enlightening.
Read full review

- Fr. Steven Szakaczki

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2009
  • Publisher: Zondervan