Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Imitation of Christ by Thomas à Kempis is a Christian devotional book. It was first composed in Latin ca.1418-1427. It is a handbook for spiritual life arising from the Devotio Moderna movement, where Kempis was a member. The Imitation is perhaps the most widely read devotional work next to the Bible, and is regarded as a devotional and religious classic. Apart from the Bible, no book has been translated into more languages than the Imitation of Christ. The text is divided into four books, which provide detailed spiritual instructions: "Helpful Counsels of the Spiritual Life", "Directives for the Interior Life", "On Interior Consolation" and "On the Blessed Sacrament". The approach taken in the Imitation is characterized by its emphasis on the interior life and withdrawal from the world, as opposed to an active imitation of Christ by other friars. The book places a high level of emphasis on the devotion to the Eucharist as key element of spiritual life.
©2014 Damian C. Andre (P)2016 Damian C. Andre
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Be the Change You Wish to See on 06-01-17

Has whispersync

As many versions of this book as there are, it is perhaps surprising that there is no edition that meets my needs. Then again, I love this book so much that I demand a lot from it. So, I would like to listen to this as continuously as possible. It just keeps your head pointed in the right direction. If only one of these editions came with chapter titles and also had whispersync because that would assist with navigating the audio. But alas, that doesn't appear to exist. You can either have chapter titles or whispersync, but not both. Now this particular edition has whispersync but no chapter titles in the kindle edition. The narrator is very good, but the audio quality has a lot of echo to it so it is hard to listen to. There is one other with whispersync, but I like this one bettter.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc