The Essence of Self-Realization

  • by Swami Kriyananda
  • Narrated by Swami Kriyananda
  • 4 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Yogananda was one of the most significant spiritual teachers of the 20th century. Since his classic Autobiography of a Yogi was first published in 1946, its popularity has increased steadily throughout the world. Great teachers work through their students, and Yogananda was no exception. As Swami Kriyananda wrote for in the introduction to this audiobook, "After I'd been with him a year and a half, he began urging me to write down the things he was saying during informal conversations." The Essence of Self-Realization, nearly 300 sayings rich with spiritual wisdom, is the fruit of that labor of love. The scope of this book is vast - it offers as complete an explanation of life's true purpose, and the way to achieve that purpose, as may be found anywhere. A few of the chapters include "The True Purpose of Life"; "On Meditation"; "How to Pray Effectively"; "The Law of Karma"; "The Lesson of Reincarnation"; and "Ways in Which God Can Be Worshiped". Filled with lessons and stories that Yogananda shared only with his closest disciples, this volume offers one of the most insightful and engaging glimpses into the life and lessons of a great sage. Much of the material presented here is not available anywhere else.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A worthy effort

A lot of interesting material. I did find the narrator's heavy breathing distracting for a while, but perhaps that was mainly because I was listening to it on a bedside boombox a foot from my ear. Since this is second-hand information based on recollections and notes, it made me want to read more from the hand of Yogananda himself for comparison...
Read full review

- Carpe Diem

Enlightened words from an Enlightened Being!

Yogananda inspires again - like a distilled and condensed version of his teachings from his classic
Read full review

- Sean

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-04-2007
  • Publisher: Crystal Clarity Publishers