• The Call

  • By: Os Guinness
  • Narrated by: Os Guinness
  • Length: 3 hrs
  • Abridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 03-11-01
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.3 (161 ratings)

Regular price: $15.96

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.96

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of C.S. Lewis and Oswald Chambers, internationally renowned author and thinker Os Guinness has produced a classic work on life's purpose. With his usual incisiveness, Guinness goes past your superficial understanding to the very heart of what calling means. Far bigger than you job, deeper than your personal accomplishments, higher that you wildest ideas of self-fulfillment, calling addresses the very essence of your existence. In these messages, Dr. Guinness sets out the principles for all who seek their life's central purpose.


How do I discover my calling?
What does it have to do with identity and personal growth?
Is calling only a spiritual idea or does it cover work, career, and ideas of success? Os Guinness says..."calling is not what it is commonly thought to be. It often flies directly in the face of our human inclinations. But no idea short of God's call can ground and fulfill the truest human desire for purpose and fulfillment."
©1998 by Os Guinness
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"...for any student of business or technology, Dealers of Lightning offers a gem of a story that has never before been so well told." (The New York Times Book Review)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By E. Spangler on 08-15-04

A very good companion to the book ...

This title is a recording of a teaching seminar that Os gave using the same material in his book. The result is that listening provided a great review for me (which is just what I wanted) --but in my opinion, not a substitue for reading the newly revised text. Worth the purchase, however.

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Lee on 09-20-03

Great audible title

Loved the book and this audible version was great.

Read More Hide me

14 of 16 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By MickeySpoonK on 06-08-17

Not the book itself, but a lecture

Still very good and captures most of my the book wonderfully. OGs voice is as smooth as butter.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Samuel Tummala on 01-27-16

Short, crisp, simple & bang on target.

The book provides much needed insights into common questions around 'Calling'. It is a must read for pastors, youth leaders, career counselors and believers alike.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc