Streams of Living Water

  • by Richard J. Foster
  • Narrated by Richard J. Foster
  • 3 hrs and 0 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The world-renowned author of Celebration of Discipline returns to explore the major traditions at the core of Christianity.
Richard J. Foster teaches that six dimensions of faith and practice, which he calls "streams of living water", are what define Christian tradition: "Contemplative", or prayer-filled life; the life of "Holiness", or the virtuous life; the "Charismatic", or Spirit-empowered life; the life of "Social Justice", or the compassionate life; the "Evangelical", or word-centered life; and finally the "Incarnational", or sacramental life. Foster examines the unique contributions of each of these traditions, offers inspiring stories of faithful people whose own lives defined these streams, and identifies the strengths and weaknesses of each stream, offering practical ways to incorporate them into our daily lives.


What the Critics Say

"Helps us understand what makes our Christian faith so rich and meaningful�" (Ted W. Engstrom, President Emeritus, World Vision)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

a wonderful, and honest book on prayer

The is a wonderful book on prayer. Very practicle and yet deeply spiritual.
Read full review

- Brenda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-16-1999
  • Publisher: HarperAudio