Seven Secrets of Shiva

  • by Devdutt Pattanaik
  • Narrated by Sanjay Iyer
  • 3 hrs and 30 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Shiva, 'the destroyer' among the Hindu trinity (of gods), is depicted in many contradictory manners. He is an ascetic who wears animal skin, his body smeared with ashes. Contradictory to his wild nature, he is also depicted as having a family, with a beautiful wife and two children. There are many more such varied representations of Shiva, the most prominent of these being the Linga and the Nataraja. The author, Devdutt Pattanaik, introduces the readers to these varied aspects and representations, and then sets about interpreting them. He explains the different anomalies and conflicts in beliefs, things that might puzzle people who are not familiar with Hindu culture and religious symbolism.
The author has taken up seven aspects of Shiva worship from Hinduism, which are nothing but seven different forms of Shiva worship. Shiva is worshipped in many forms, as the Lingeshwara, Kala Bhairava, Sundareshwara, Shankara, and Nataraja, and the author goes into each form and analyzes what it represents. He also discusses Shivas two sons, Ganesha and Karthikeya. He goes into the symbolism behind these forms and provides his interpretation. This book serves as a nice introduction to Shaivite concepts and explains many stories, both known and unknown, the symbolism, and rituals and the reasons behind Hindu worship.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Any additional comments?

If you are into yoga, meditation or are seeking to grow spiritually you need to listen to this book. I spend a lot of time reading and listening to eastern spirituality books and a lot of it is the same thing said different ways. This is actually different, it goes into depth about some ideas that were touched on in my yoga teacher training. So glad I found this!!!

Read full review

- jacquelyn

An excellent introduction and explanation of shiva

Where does Seven Secrets of Shiva rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

It was a great listen, and taught me a lot about Shiva and Hinduism

What other book might you compare Seven Secrets of Shiva to and why?

Compared to other audiobooks on Hinduism and Eastern philosophy, this one focuses on the symbolism and the meaning behind Shiva and Shaivism, as opposed to somebody giving their personal interpretations.

What about Sanjay Iyer’s performance did you like?

The narration was clear

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

I would say the benefit of this book is that you can listen to it in several sittings without feeling like you lost what is being said.

Any additional comments?

I just really enjoyed this, after finishing this I had a lot better understanding of shiva.

Read full review

- Daryl

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-04-2012
  • Publisher: booksTALK Audiobooks & Westland