New Testament

  • by Oasis Audio
  • Narrated by Various
  • 18 hrs and 44 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The NRSV has received the widest acclaim and broadest support from academics and church leaders of any modern English translation.Rooted in the past, but right for today, the NRSV continues the tradition of William Tyndale, the King James Version, the American Standard Version, and the Revised Standard Version. Equally important, it sets a new standard for the 21st century. The NRSV stands out among the many translations because it is "as literal as possible" in adhering to the ancient texts and only "as free as necessary" to make the meaning clear in graceful, understandable English. It draws on newly available sources that increase our understanding of many previously obscure biblical passages. These sources include new-found manuscripts, the Dead Sea Scrolls, other texts, inscriptions, and archaeological finds from the ancient Near East, and new understandings of Greek and Hebrew grammar.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Audiobook

I am a horrible atheist with no experience with the bible whatsoever. Bought this audiobook because it turns out that an understanding of the New Testament is pretty important for reading pretty much any book of Western Political Thought written in the past two thousand years.

The narration is great--very expressive, and really kept my interest. The translation is very clear and easy to understand. I bought this audiobook dreading the project I was embarking upon, but have come to really enjoy listening to the Bible while doing other projects. Definitely recommend this audiobook to anyone who's interested in learning more about this extremely influential document.
Read full review

- Firebird

Difficult to navigate between books of the bible

I was very dissapointed to discover how difficult it is to navigate between chapters (listed numerically) and to identify the location of the books of the Bible.
Read full review

- Cathy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2006
  • Publisher: Oasis Audio