Regular price: $21.67

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

These audio lectures are a unique learning experience. Unlike a traditional audiobook's direct narration of a book's text, Historical Theology: Audio Lectures includes high-quality live recordings of college-level lectures that cover the important points from each subject as well as relevant material from other sources.
Most historical theology studies follow Christian beliefs chronologically, discussing notable doctrinal developments for all areas of theology according to their historical appearance. While this may be good history, it can make for confusing theology, with the classic theological doctrines scattered throughout various time periods, movements, and controversies.
In Historical Theology: Audio Lectures, Gregg Allison offers students the opportunity to study the historical development of theology by a topical-chronological arrangement, setting out the history one doctrine at a time. This approach allows students to concentrate on one tenet of Christianity and its formulation in the early church, through the Middle Ages, Reformation, and post-Reformation era, and into the modern period.
Historical Theology: Audio Lectures is a superb resource for students and self-learners wanting to better understand the development of Christian theology.
Session titles and runtimes:
1 - Introduction to Historical Theology (18 min)
2 - The Canon of Scripture (10 min)
3 - The Inspiration of Scripture (12 min)
4 - The Authority of Scripture (9 min)
5 - The Inerrancy of Scripture (11 min)
6 - The Clarity of Scripture (12 min)
7 - The Sufficiency and Necessity of Scripture (13 min)
8 - The Interpretation of Scripture (9 min)
9 - The Existence and Knowability of God (12 min)
10 - The Character of God (15 min)
11 - God in Three Persons: The Trinity (13 min)
12 - Creation (15 min)
13 - Providence (16 min)
14 - Angels, Satan, and Demons (11 min)
15 - The Creation and Nature of Humanity (13 min)
16 - Sin (14 min)
17 - The Person of Jesus Christ (18 min)
18 - The Atonement (11 min)
19 - Resurrection and Ascension (7 min)
20 - The Holy Spirit (17 min)
21 - Election and Reprobation (9 min)
22 - Regeneration, Conversion, and Effective Calling (11 min)
23 - Justification: Right Legal Standing Before God (11 min)
24 - Sanctification: Growth in Likeness to Christ (8 min)
25 - The Perseverance of the Saints: Remaining a Christian (15 min)
26 - The Church: Its Nature, Its Marks, and Its Purpose (17 min)
27 - Church Government (8 min)
28 - Baptism (23 min)
29 - The Lord's Supper (16 min)
30 - Worship (10 min)
31 - Christ's Return and the Millennium (12 min)
32 - The Final Judgment and Eternal Punishment (10 min)
33 - The New Heavens and New Earth (5 min)
©2016 Gregg R. Allison (P)2016 Zondervan
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By Chris Wandor on 04-25-17

more of a systematic theology

I was hoping for more of a walk through history, and how theology developed. however, Allison goes through each major doctrine in a systematic way, defines it, and then usually gives a very brief overview of how the doctrine has developed over time. I wish he spent more time in the history.

Read More Hide me

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Mr. Gallifant on 01-21-17

Class Review for a Bible Study

good addition to the book but more of an overview of the sections, not the actual audiobook

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews