Choosing Forgiveness

  • by Nancy Leigh DeMoss
  • Narrated by Christine Dente
  • 4 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The prayer that Jesus gave his disciples as a model, commonly called "The Lord's Prayer", asks that God forgive us as we forgive others. That's a really scary thought! God forgiving us as we do? Nancy Leigh DeMoss explains how forgiving like God is a choice that frees us from the burdens of bitterness, anger, and isolation. If you struggle with long-held hurts, God's truth and Nancy's wisdom offer help and healing for you.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Very Traditional view on forgiveness.

Too anecdotal. It was difficult to relate to the sweeping stories of people forgiving murderers and Nazis.

The more "relatable" stories seem to overly focus on forgiving the cheating husband scenarios. Very gender normative and conservative view on women's plight. Stories always ended with woman accepting back the husband (which was equated with forgiveness) and being blessed for it.

Argued that forgiveness was done in one moment in time statement and that it was completed. She said the forgiveness grows And evolves from there but failed to fully deal with the possibility that your heart may not cooperate with you in the forgiveness intent and statement.

At one point she suggests that gay sex can be a consequence of underlying bitterness and unforgiveness. A very typical evangelical take which lacked any basis in research or study...

Overall unhelpful for me but there were some attempts to propose a technique to jump start your heart into forgiveness that I will try.
Read full review



This book was life transforming for me. It identified issues that I need to work on in my own life. As a Christian, it was a good reminder of reasons why we make decisions that non-Christians may not always understand. Even if you think you do a good job of forgiving others, you will benefit from the insights shared in this book.
Read full review

- A. Beth

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-29-2006
  • Publisher: Oasis Audio