A Grief Observed

  • by C. S. Lewis
  • Narrated by Douglas Gresham
  • 1 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Written after his wife's tragic death as a way of surviving the "mad midnight moment", A Grief Observed is C.S. Lewis's honest reflection on the fundamental issues of life, death, and faith in the midst of loss. This work contains his concise, genuine reflections on that period: "Nothing will shake a man - or at any rate a man like me - out of his merely verbal thinking and his merely notional beliefs. He has to be knocked silly before he comes to his senses. Only torture will bring out the truth. Only under torture does he discover it himself." This is a beautiful and unflinchingly honest record of how even a stalwart believer can lose all sense of meaning in the universe, and how he can gradually regain his bearings.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Honest, transparent and a blessing to the reader

Experiencing deep grief revealed how much of my life I was lived with eyes wide shut. The #audible book a Grief Observed was a blessing to read. It was like being invited into the mind of great philosopher and theologian as he struggled to become whole or something nearer to it after losing his beloved wife. Instead of a methodical listing of feelings and well meaning platitudes. CS Lewis instead shows us how one can work through grief and be better for it with honesty, transparency and an enduring faith.
Read full review

- M. Johnson


What made the experience of listening to A Grief Observed the most enjoyable?

His honesty about his true feelings. You could feel his hurt.

What other book might you compare A Grief Observed to and why?


Which scene was your favorite?

Toward the end when he thought back to several things he had lost in life but nothing compared to the death of his wife.

Any additional comments?

I enjoyed the book because it was from a male perspective grieving his wife.

Read full review

- Linda Harrell

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-13-2014
  • Publisher: HarperAudio