• The American Civil War

  • Extracts from BBC Radio 4's 'Empire of Liberty'
  • By: David Reynolds
  • Narrated by: David Reynolds
  • Length: 2 hrs and 18 mins
  • Radio/TV Program
  • Release date: 04-18-11
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.3 (3 ratings)

Regular price: $15.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $15.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Ten episodes from David Reynolds' award-winning radio series, which trace the history of the American Civil War. This narrative tells the story of the American Civil War through the voices of those who lived it. Written and presented by acclaimed historian David Reynolds, these extracts come from the series 'America: Empire of Liberty', which won the Voice of the Listener & Viewer Award for the Best New Radio Programme and was nominated for a Sony Radio Academy Award.
The 10 episodes included are:

The Ninety-Day War
The Killers Take Command
Forever Free
A New Nation
War Behind the Battle Lines
The Passing of the Dead
Dead States, New Birth
Reunion but not Reconstruction
New South, Old Ways
War and Memory

©2011 AudioGO Ltd (P)2011 David Reynolds
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By M. Henson on 01-09-18

Best survey of the Civil War I've ever encountered

this is a great summary of the American Civil War and reconstruction given by the BBC's dispassionate third-party View

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By M on 05-24-16

A bitter story in USA history very well told

The story sets out to tell the history of the civil war in the context of today and the people it affected. Like many wars it starts with great hope and a cause but events turn out differently in hindsight. If you know little of the civil war this will inform you of the history and consequences of that conflict.

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Mark on 05-09-15

useful swift introduction to this topic

If you could sum up The American Civil War in three words, what would they be?

concise, pertinent, useful

What was one of the most memorable moments of The American Civil War?

I can see why some American friends have the allegiances they do

What does David Reynolds bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

voice accent, the voice of the young

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc