Plantagenet (BBC Radio 4: Classic Serial)

  • by Mike Walker
  • Narrated by David Warner, Jane Lapotaire, Joseph Cohen-Cole, Neil Stuke, Ed Stoppard
  • 2 hrs and 50 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

A collection of three plays by Mike Walker, inspired by Holinshed's Chronicles, about the early years of the Plantagenet dynasty. The series was originally broadcast on Radio 4 in the Classic Serials slots on 14, 21, and 28 February 2010. ‘What is a Man?’ - The first of the House of Anjou to be king of England, Henry II's long reign was finally beset by conflict with his sons.

‘John, by the Grace of God’ - The fourth son of Henry II never expected to succeed to the English throne. When he does, he reveals a talent for making enemies.
Starring David Warner, Jane Lapotaire, Ed Stoppard, Joseph Cohen-Cole and Neil Stuke. Directed by Jeremy Mortimer.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A truly cinematic radio production.

A fascinating tale of intrigue and power politics during England's reign of the Plantagenet family. This BBC audio production was incredibly well done, and as well crafted as any movie. Mike Walker's story has amazing, and often quite witty, dialogue that carries the plot forward at a healthy pace. Quite often I found myself imaging scenes in my head as they played out in this audio drama series. Highly recommended if you enjoy historical fiction, or just a richly produced radio drama! I'll definitely be checking out the BBC's Plantagenet Series 2 and 3 sequels.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-30-2010
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited