McLevy, The Collected Editions: Series 5 & 6

  • by David Ashton
  • Narrated by Brian Cox, full cast, Siobhan Redmond
  • 5 hrs and 45 mins
  • Radio/TV Program

Publisher's Summary

Brian Cox stars as the Edinburgh detective in eight episodes of the BBC Radio 4 series.
Inspired by the real-life memoirs of a Victorian inspector in Scotland, James McLevy prowls the dark streets of 1860s Edinburgh bringing criminals to justice, with the assistance of Constable Mulholland.
'To Keep Him Honest': with big bets on a champion boxing match, the local crooks keep McLevy busy.

'Picture of Innocence': a high court judge is dead, and suspicion falls on his wife.
'The Chosen One': the Princess of the Occult is a sell-out success, but McLevy thinks she's a fraud.
'The Reckoning': as Jean prepares for a wedding, death stalks McLevy.
'A Bolt from the Blue': a corpse is found floating in Leith docks.
'End of the Line': two ladies discover the body of a drunken Italian aristocrat at Waverley station.
'Jack O'Diamonds': Jean Brash plans revenge on a sadistic client, but he is not a man to cross lightly.
'Queen of Spades': Jean's battle with Caleb Grant has heartbreaking consequences.

Written by David Ashton, these atmospheric radio dramas costar Siobhan Redmond as Jean Brash and Michael Perceval-Maxwell as Constable Mulholland.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

consistently good storytelling

another great collection of the dramatized stories of Edinburgh detective James McLevy. The characters are well fleshed out, the plots always interesting, and the choice of actors for all the parts is consistently good. The best part is Brian Cox as McLevy whose dry style fits the pieces perfectly. These 45 minute episodes are excellent listening and just the right length.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

The Excellence Continues

The very high quality storytelling and acting continue into this series. I ended up buying every single series. Once I fell into this world I really didn't want to climb out!
Read full review

- The Nurse

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-29-2016
  • Publisher: BBC Worldwide Limited