Regular price: $0.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $0.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This episode of the Adventures of Nero Wolfe first aired on December 15, 1946. Nero Wolfe, featured in 46 novels, movies, and television series, first came to radio on April 7, 1943. The great character actor Sydney Greenstreet played him from 1950-51. Wolfe, the "gargantuan gourmet", solved crimes with an attention to detail that rivaled the great Sherlock Holmes. The overweight detective of Rex Stout's novels refused to leave his elegant brownstone on business, sending his wisecracking, two-fisted assistant, Archie Goodwin, out to do his legwork. This peculiar private investigator preferred tending to his beloved orchids over solving crimes. In fact, the only reason he worked at all was to keep up his lavish lifestyle.
(P)2006 Radio Spirits Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Cassandra Morrison on 04-29-17

THE ONLY EPISODE KNOWN TO EXIST!

From "The Amazing Nero Wolfe" starring the legendary Francis X Bushman & the versatile Elliot Lewis who played a wide range of characters on radio (everything from Carlton E Morse's Captain Friday in Adventures by Morse to Phil Hartis' hapless guitar player on the Phil Harrid/Alice Faye Show.)
A must for fans of Wolfe & Archiei

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful


By Georgie on 05-27-08

Excellent

This was a great mystery/who dunnit! Highly recommend it.....A must for everyone who loves timeless crime stories

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By DungBeetle on 01-28-16

Quite good

Not the best of Nero Wolfe stories but a reasonable listen with some humour and interesting twists. ..and a fascinating advertisement included for skin lotion ...worth getting this audio book for that little slice of history alone.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc