Worth More Dead and Other True Cases

  • by Ann Rule
  • Narrated by Laural Merlington
  • 12 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Why would a man kill his lover's husband and then his wife, the woman who fought successfully to have him paroled from prison? Why would he risk arrest by kidnapping the child of another woman who adored him? Because they were...Worth More Dead
A cold case reopened - and solved - with dogged police work and new evidence. One of the shocking true crimes of passion and greed from Ann Rule's Crime Files.
Former Marine sergeant and judo instructor Roland Pitre Jr. claimed it was all an elaborate plan to win back his wife's love - it wasn't supposed to end with her dead body in the trunk of a car. Nearly twenty years later, he acknowledged that he had hired someone to kill his estranged wife in 1988, though his alleged excuse for why a monstrous "mistake" happened is as shocking and convoluted as the crime itself. Eventually, he was charged with first-degree murder in the long-unsolved death of Cheryl Pitre, after a mysterious witness betrayed Pitre to save his own skin. Tracing back the dark and bloody path of Pitre's life, two generations of detectives found a chain of brutal and terrifying crimes by a man who manipulated the courts and prisons to walk free.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

worst rule book ever

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

the story was simply boring i have almost every ann rule book and i am a huge fan but this was so bad i could not finish it just terrible

What could Ann Rule have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

not written the main story

Would you be willing to try another one of Laural Merlington’s performances?

yes i think laural is an amazing narrator

Read full review

- bethany

OK, kind of slow?

Not one of Ann's best books. It seemed kind of bland for some reason. Half way through I was thinking about her next one that I have bought.
Read full review

- Jim

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-08-2013
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio