Where Do We Go From Here

  • by Martin Luther King
  • Narrated by Martin Luther King
  • 1 hrs and 17 mins
  • Speech

Publisher's Summary

Where Do We Go From Here is a selection from A Call to Conscience, a milestone collection of Dr. King's most influential and best-known speeches. Presented here with an introduction written and read by Senator Edward M. Kennedy.Compiled by Stanford historian Dr. Clayborne Carson, director of the King Papers Project, and by contributing editor Kris Shepard, A Call to Conscience takes you behind the scenes on an astonishing historical journey, from the small, crowded church in Montgomery, Alabama, where "The Birth of a New Nation" ignited the modern civil rights movement; to the center of the nation's capital, where "I Have a Dream" echoed through a nation's conscience; to the Mason Temple in Memphis, where over 10,000 people heard Dr. King give his last, transcendent speech, "I've Been to the Mountaintop", the night before his assassination. In 12 important introductions, some of the world's most renowned leaders and theologians, Andrew Young, His Holiness the Dalai Lama, Senator Edward M. Kennedy, and Mrs. Rosa Parks, among others, share with you their reflections on these speeches and give priceless firsthand testimony on the events that inspired their delivery.Expressing a deeply felt faith in democracy, the power of loving change, and a self-deprecating humor, A Call to Conscience is Dr. King speaking today. It is a unique, unforgettable record of the words that rallied millions, forever changed the face of America, and even today shape our deepest personal hopes and dreams for the future.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Every American should listen to Martin Luther King's speech. His words are as valuable in modern times (2009) as when he first spoke them.
Read full review


Monumental...King is TIMELESS!

MLK chronicles the undying willingness of the black man in America and tools and social strategies to eliminate injustice.
Read full review

- Thomas Taylor

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-27-2006
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio