• The Spider Network

  • The Wild Story of a Maths Genius, a Gang of Backstabbing Bankers, and One of the Greatest Scams in Financial History
  • By: David Enrich
  • Narrated by: Mike Chamberlain
  • Length: 15 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 03-23-17
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Random House Audiobooks
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.6 (8 ratings)

Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $21.31

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Short-listed for the Financial Times Business Book of the Year 
Random House presents the audiobook edition of The Spider Network by David Enrich, read by Mike Chamberlain. 
The Spider Network is the almost unbelievable and darkly entertaining inside account of the Libor scandal - one of the biggest, farthest reaching financial scams since the global financial crisis - written by the only journalist with access to Tom Hayes before he was sentenced to 14 years in prison. Full of exclusive details, and with ramifications that stretch right across the British establishment, this is a gripping, real-life story of outlandish characters and reckless greed in the City of London. 
By turns a rollicking account of the scandal and also a provocative examination of a financial system that was crooked throughout, The Spider Network is a perfect listen for fans of The Wolf of Wall Street and The Big Short
©2017 David Enrich (P)2017 Random House Audiobooks
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Will snare you in its web of deceit. A brilliant investigative exposé." (Harlan Coben, best-selling thriller author)
"Reads like a fast-paced John le Carré thriller, and never lets up." (New York Times book review)
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 07-05-17

Difficult to conclude

I thoroughly enjoyed the story, and could almost feel the very vulnerable, even child like aspect of Hayes character coming from the words. As someone who has experience of dealing with Asperger's in daily life, I could relate and empathise with Hayes situation and have experienced similar events where people I know who suffer with Asperger's have been led down the proverbial garden path into trouble, to the benefit of others. His interpersonal relationships appeared touching and even comical. I did find myself in a quandary whilst reading as my allegiance to the protagonist swung back and forth like a barometer at times, which I think separates this title from others and again really captures the fickleness of human behaviour and emotions.

The narration wasn't too great, it was a little robotic.

Otherwise thumbs up!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By JCS on 02-04-18

Balanced analysis of the LIBOR scandal

I had followed the news of the LIBOR scandal as it was uncovered, so an opportunity to have an in depth understanding of all the aspects of the case could not be missed.

The story is fascinating, I was pleased that it wasn’t a defence of the proponents actions. Instead it sets out how the individuals got into the positions they did and is also a case study in toxic follower-ship.

There is a bit of technical detail in the story which may make it a little inaccessible to those with limited understanding of the financial system or derivatives but on the whole this is a story about people, greed and naivety.

I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to understand the story behind the headlines of the LIBOR scandal.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc