The Bye Bye Man

  • by Robert Damon Schneck
  • Narrated by Scott Brick, Robert Damon Schneck
  • 6 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The True Story Behind the Terrifying Movie
Don't think of his name....
In 1990, three college students spent a long Wisconsin winter experimenting with a Ouija board; it turned out to be the deadliest mistake of their lives.
The board brought them into contact with a psychic serial killer known only as the Bye Bye Man. Learning his name makes you vulnerable, but thinking about it draws the Bye Bye Man to you.
He is a relentless traveler, moving night and day, coming ever closer until the shrill sound of a steady whistle announces his arrival. He might turn up outside your bedroom door, speaking in the voice of a trusted friend, someone who would never hurt you....
Here is the authentically terrifying, true-life story recounted by historian Robert Damon Schneck in a chapter of his classic underground collection of weird Americana, which formed the basis for the major motion picture The Bye Bye Man.
This unsettling tale is accompanied by seven more chapters of twisted history and includes the author's new afterword, "Searching for the Bye Bye Man".


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I was so excited about this book that I pre-ordered it. From the title, it was going to be a book about urban legends with some new scary stories sprinkled in. What I got was a book that mostly takes place before the 21st century. The stories are neither scary nor interesting. Most of them weren't even paranormal. I will say the narrator is good.

You don't get to the Bye Bye Man until chapter 10. The story is interesting, but to honest, nothing much really happens. They are going to have to really embellish it in order to make it into a decent horror movie.

If you like historical stories, you may really enjoy this book. But if you are looking for some modern scares, take a pass.
Read full review

- S. Winchester

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-31-2016
  • Publisher: Penguin Audio