Stoicism for Beginners

  • by Seneca, Marcus Aurelius, Matthew Thomas
  • Narrated by Millian Quinteros
  • 0 hrs and 22 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The Stoics taught that destructive emotions resulted from errors in judgment, of the active relationship between cosmic determinism and human freedom, and the belief that it is virtuous to maintain a will that is in accord with nature. Because of this, the Stoics presented their philosophy as a way of life, and they thought that the best indication of an individual's philosophy was not what a person said but how that person behaved.
To live a good life, one had to understand the rules of the natural order since they taught that everything was rooted in nature. Later Stoics - such as Seneca and Epictetus - emphasized that, because "virtue is sufficient for happiness", a sage was immune to misfortune. This belief is similar to the meaning of the phrase "stoic calm," though the phrase does not include the "radical ethical" Stoic views that only a sage can be considered truly free, and that all moral corruptions are equally vicious. From its founding, Stoic doctrine was popular with a following in Roman Greece and throughout the Roman Empire - including the Emperor Marcus Aurelius.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Quotes Sped Through

I have had brief introductions to stoicism, mainly through Tim Ferriss. That's why I decided to give this a listen. The narrator's voice is pleasant and consistent, however I think it would be more beneficial to the listener if there were longer pauses between each quote. Aside from that, I think a good variety of quotes on life were chosen and I will be looking into this topic more deeply, in part because of the interesting insights this beginners guide shares.
Read full review

- Ashley E Evard

Great quotes!

Loved the messages of these quotes! It's worth a quick listen each day for grounding and clarity in our daily lives.
Read full review

- higzip

Book Details

  • Release Date: 07-21-2016
  • Publisher: Galleon Audio