Rogue Economics

  • by Loretta Napoleoni
  • Narrated by Suzanne Toren
  • 10 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Economist and syndicated journalist Loretta Napoleoni argues that the world is undergoing rapid and unexpected great transformations fueled by what she calls rogue economics. Eagerly awaited around the world (translation rights have already been sold throughout Europe, Latin America, and Southeast Asia), Napoleoni's account is based on top-to-bottom primary-source interviews from banking executives in New York to Russian prostitutes to London morgue workers, and grounded in the author's personal experience in international finance.From Eastern Europe's booming sex trade industry to China's "online sweatshops," from al-Qaeda's underwriters to America's subprime mortgage lending scandal, Rogue Economics exposes the paradoxical economic connections of the new global marketplace.


What the Critics Say

"Timely and fascinating, Napoleoni's top-notch reporting, in which her attention turns from Viagra to blood diamonds to the banana price wars in a few pages, works in the vein of Freakonomics and Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation, but much grimmer. Like those, this volume doesn't provide many answers, but the questions it raises are profound." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I have purchased over 300 books from Audible but this book truly stands out as a book that is memorable and profound. I began an exploration several years ago when the 'Credit Crunch' began; wondering if, indeed, I was seeing the deterioration and destruction of the US financial system. Indeed, but it left me with so many questions about why it was happening. Loretta Napoleoni has pulled together a tremendous amount of research and synthesized it into a truly extraordinary book. I have already listened to it 3 times.
Read full review

- Ann

Rogue Economics

Poorly researched Marxist rant. The half hour I listened to it (until the factual errors and logical inconsistencies became more than I could bare) is half an hour I won't ever get back. It is incomprehensible that some people still view Soveit Russia as a workers' paradise!
Read full review

- Dylan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-17-2009
  • Publisher: Audible Studios