• by Monique W. Morris
  • Narrated by Kristyl Dawn Tift
  • 8 hrs and 54 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fifteen-year-old Diamond stopped going to school the day she was expelled for lashing out at peers who constantly harassed and teased her for something everyone on the staff had missed: she was being trafficked for sex. After months on the run, she was arrested and sent to a detention center for violating a court order to attend school. Just 16 percent of female students, black girls make up more than one-third of all girls with a school-related arrest.
The first trade book to tell these untold stories, Pushout exposes a world of confined potential and supports the growing movement to address the policies, practices, and cultural illiteracy that push countless students out of school and into unhealthy, unstable, and often unsafe futures. For four years, Monique W. Morris chronicled the experiences of black girls across the country whose intricate lives are misunderstood, highly judged - by teachers, administrators, and the justice system - and degraded by the very institutions charged with helping them flourish. Morris shows how, despite obstacles, black girls still find ways to breathe remarkable dignity into their lives in classrooms, juvenile facilities, and beyond.


What the Critics Say

"Morris's work, buttressed by appalling statistics and scholarly studies, is supplemented by two useful appendices...and a list of community resources." (Publishers Weekly)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great content; horrible performance

I am very interested in the content of this text. However, the voice reading sounds like a computer which makes it very difficult to listen for long periods of time. I'd rather read the printed copy before wasting money on this audio book.
Read full review

- Nina


loved it as an MSW grad student it was very insightful. As an black woman I found the book easy to relate to. The narrator's tone and volume was perfect.
Read full review

- ashari

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-21-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio