People of the Lie Vol. 1

  • by M. Scott Peck
  • Narrated by M. Scott Peck, M. Scott Peck
  • 1 hrs and 29 mins
  • Abridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Dr. M. Scott Peck has inspired millions by combining the deepest insights of psychiatry with those of religion. In this first of a three volume audio series based on his best-selling book People of the Lie, Dr. Peck once again integrates religious teaching with the science of psychology as he offers hope for healing one of society's most persistent failings -- human evil.
In his characteristic warm and accessible style, Dr. Peck explains that while the notion of evil has been present in religious thought for centuries, the concept has not been fully addressed by the psychiatric community. Dr. Peck links the two to show us how truly evil people are not necessarily criminals but those among us who appear as upstanding members of society. Using individual case studies to present vivid incidents of human evil, Dr. Peck describes how these "People of the Lie" hide behind the facade of normalcy as they continue to plague our lives.
A groundbreaking and compelling audio program that explores the essence of evil, People of the Lie sets us on a path toward understanding and coping with this age-old program.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

It's basically just a sample

This volume includes about the introduction and first chapter (or maybe two) of the book. He gave one vignette (the story of the boy whose parents gave him the gun his brother used to commit suicide) and talked briefly about Erich Fromme, and then it was over. The entire printed book is short enough that I can't make sense of why it should have been either abridged or cut into three volumes. If I'd realized what I was getting, I'd have passed.
Read full review

- Anon for Now

uninspir God-besoten conclusion. waste of time.

Uninspired God-besoten conclusion. waste of time. Wish to have $ back. Only 2 examples and a weak argument for the thesis.
Read full review

- Abusahan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-13-2010
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio