• by Leonard Peikoff
  • Narrated by Johanna Ward
  • 19 hrs and 5 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This brilliantly conceived book is based on a lecture course given by Dr. Leonard Peikoff in 1976 entitled, "The Philosophy of Objectivism". The lectures were attended by Ayn Rand, who helped prepare them and who also joined Peikoff in answering questions. Ayn Rand said of these lectures: "Until or unless I write a comprehensive treatise on my philosophy, Dr. Peikoff's course is the only authorized presentation of the entire theoretical structure of objectivism; that is, the only one that I know of my own knowledge to be fully accurate." Peikoff, as Rand's foremost interpreter, here reveals both the abstract fundamentals of objectivism and its practical applications, with much new material that Rand offered only in private conversations with Peikoff.


What the Critics Say

"A revelation. Peikoff is an extraordinary communicator....He brings the most difficult intellectual ideas within the grasp of the general reader....An awesome intellectual experience." (Detroit Free Press)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The very best overview of Objectivism

If you identified with the heroes of Atlas Shrugged and want to fully explore the philosophical principles on which they were based, this is a great book. There are quite a few good books and lectures available on Ayn Rand's philosphy of Objectivism, but this is by far the best. It starts with the foundation of human understanding and develops the philosophy using self-evident logic and reason. The author does an excellent job of capturing Ayn Rand's compelling philosophy for living a non-contradictory life. If you're going to read only one book about objectivism, this is the one to read and was fully endorsed by Ayn Rand.
Read full review

- L. Hattery

Great Listen

Great philosophies, typical Ayn Rand. Definitely something you have to listen to again and again and again and again.
Read full review

- W G

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-03-2004
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.