• by Misha Glenny
  • Narrated by Zach Villa
  • 9 hrs and 18 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Nemesis is the story of an ordinary man who became the king of the largest slum in Rio, the head of a drug cartel, and perhaps Brazil's most wanted criminal. It's a gripping tale of gold hunters and evangelical pastors, bent police and rich-kid addicts, quixotic politicians and drug lords with math degrees. Traversing through rain forests and high-security prisons, filthy slums and glittering shopping malls, this is also the story of how change came to Brazil. Of a country's journey into the global spotlight and the battle for the beautiful but damned city of Rio, as it struggles to break free from a tangled web of corruption, violence, drugs, and poverty.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Amazing sobriety

I am from Rio de Janeiro and have friends have live in Rocinha as well as in other "favelas" (shantytown houses uphill) and I can say that it is surprisingly accurate , well documented , detached from the alluring glamour one can easily get caught into when speaking of a cartel atmosphere in an exotic city . The narration by Zach Villa is amazing, I am glad he took the time to research hoe the words should be spoken (something that in another book called "Brazil" by Michael Reid it is definitely lacking).
I had already enjoyed two audiobooks by Misha Glenny ("McMafia" and "Dark Market" ) and couldn't resist when I saw this one by a Rio drug lord. I hope he further pursues the subject of the Red Command and how it came about and how it is telling of our culture .
Read full review

- Fabio Azeredo

Seriously lacking..

Unless you are from Brazil and know the area and the situation being described in this book this not for you. To me it is the only way you will enjoy this book for the subject matter it covered. There was no excitement or no plot twists, or anything that made me want to continue to finish this. A waste of a credit!!
Read full review

- Shedrick Brown

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-23-2016
  • Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC