Master Thieves

  • by Stephen Kurkjian
  • Narrated by Mike Chamberlain
  • 7 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In a secret meeting in 1981, a master thief named Louis Royce gave career gangster Ralph Rossetti the tip of a lifetime. As a kid, Royce had visited the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum and made a habit of sneaking in at night to find a good place to sleep. He knew the Museum's security was lax, and he gave this information to a boss of the Boston criminal underworld. It took years before the Museum was hit. But when it finally happened, it quickly became one of the most infamous art heists in history: 13 works of art valued at up to $500 million - including Rembrandt's "The Storm on the Sea of Galilee". The identity of the thieves was a mystery, and the paintings were never found.
What happened in those intervening years? Which Boston crew landed the big score? And why, more than 20 years later, did the FBI issue a press conference stating that they knew who had pulled off the heist and what had happened to the artwork, but provided no identities and scant details? These mysteries are the story of Stephen Kurkjian's revealing audiobook. He will take the listener deep into the Boston mob and paint the most complete and compelling picture of this story ever told.


What the Critics Say

"[E]ngrossing real-life crime story." (Kirkus)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


There's no end in sight to this. Too many details without any meat. Don't bother.
Read full review

- B Rose

25 years of waiting.. And a bit of a letdown.

I live in Boston, work in East Boston in the shadows of many places mentioned. I remember the heist, and the roller coaster decades of false reports of a breakthrough in the case. I had hoped that a Boston Globe reporter could bring some insight into the story. Unfortunately it is a book of rehashed newspaper stories told in clipped and tacit prose. Hard to follow the non linear tangents and filler stories.
Read full review

- James H. Breda

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-17-2015
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio