Manufacturing Consent

  • by Edward S. Herman, Noam Chomsky
  • Narrated by John Pruden
  • 15 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this pathbreaking work, now with a new introduction, Edward S. Herman and Noam Chomsky show that, contrary to the usual image of the news media as cantankerous, obstinate, and ubiquitous in their search for truth and defense of justice, in their actual practice they defend the economic, social, and political agendas of the privileged groups that dominate domestic society, the state, and the global order.
Based on a series of case studies - including the media's dichotomous treatment of "worthy" versus "unworthy" victims, "legitimizing" and "meaningless" Third World elections, and devastating critiques of media coverage of the US wars against Indochina - Herman and Chomsky draw on decades of criticism and research to propose a Propaganda Model to explain the media's behavior and performance. Their new introduction updates the Propaganda Model and the earlier case studies, and it discusses several other applications.


What the Critics Say

"[A] compelling indictment of the news media's role in covering up errors and deceptions in American foreign policy of the past quarter century." (New York Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


the narrator sounds like Sergeant Joe Friday on the old TV show Drag Net. Very cool... Noam Chomsky has the credibility​ to not back up everything he says with endless examples. No amount of research that supports his profound assertions would convince anyone who does not except that. On the other hand, far be it from Chomsky to make unsupported assertions.
Read full review

- Sharyl Wooton

Disturbing view

A well reasoned argument for the argument for a very obedient media and how they help mold public opinion to government ends.
Read full review

- Jan D. Leslie

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-18-2017
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio