Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies

  • by Seth Holmes
  • Narrated by Paul Costanzo
  • 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies provides an intimate examination of the everyday lives and suffering of Mexican migrants in our contemporary food system. An anthropologist and MD in the mold of Paul Farmer and Didier Fassin, Seth M. Holmes shows how market forces, anti-immigrant sentiment, and racism undermine health and health care. Holmes' material is visceral and powerful. He trekked with his companions illegally through the desert into Arizona and was jailed with them before they were deported. He lived with indigenous families in the mountains of Oaxaca and in farm labor camps in the US, planted and harvested corn, picked strawberries, and accompanied sick workers to clinics and hospitals. This "embodied anthropology" deepens our theoretical understanding of the ways in which social inequalities and suffering come to be perceived as normal and natural in society and in health care.


What the Critics Say

"Dr. Holmes exposes the links among suffering, the inequalities related to the structural violence of global trade which compel migration, and the symbolic violence of stereotypes and prejudices that normalize racism." (New York Journal of Books)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good book

Reading is a bit dry but the story is wonderful and a very important. It causes you to think about where your food comes from.
Read full review

- Chevonne Staton


What made the experience of listening to Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies the most enjoyable?

An excellent book, but needs to be whispersync'd. I hope that when Audible gets around to whispersync'd the book, they will allow a free upgrade.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies?

The book is a real eye-opener, and should be required reading in every high school.

Any additional comments?

Get it whispersync'd.

Read full review

- J. Clark "Navy_Chief"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-02-2016
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio