• by Benedict de Spinoza
  • Narrated by Antony Ferguson
  • 9 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Benedict de Spinoza's Ethics, first published in 1677, constitutes a major systematic critique of the traditional and religious foundations of philosophical thought. In it, Spinoza follows a logical step-by-step format consisting of definitions, axioms, propositions, proofs, and corollaries to create a comprehensive inquiry into the truth about God, nature, and humans' place within the universe. From these broad metaphysical themes, Spinoza derives what he considered to be the highest principles of religion and society and lays out an ethical system in which reason is the supreme value. A seminal contribution to 17th-century rationalism, Spinoza's Ethics refutes the dualism of René Descartes and provides a bridge between religion and modern-day psychology. This edition is the translation by R. H. M. Elwes.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An important historical work

If you could sum up Ethics in three words, what would they be?

Any summary of this work deserves more than three words.

What did you like best about this story?

Spinoza was a true genius, however, the writing style of his time was very dry and drawn out. Antony does as good a job as possible in taking the information and communicating it in a manner that is palatable enough to listen to.

Which scene was your favorite?

There aren't scenes in this book, however, in the beginning I realized Spinoza wasn't talking so much about a deity as he was hypothesizing about energy. This revelation blew my mind in a very positive way.

What’s the most interesting tidbit you’ve picked up from this book?

Spinoza was as smart as so many have claimed that he was, and that's refreshing.

Read full review

- Eric

Great way to learn a classic text

The Ethics is not the easiest book and being able to listen at .75x really helped me take it in. Good performance.
Read full review

- AP

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-30-2011
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio