Democracy Now!

  • by Amy Goodman, David Goodman, Denis Moynihan - contributor
  • Narrated by Amy Goodman
  • 11 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A celebration of the acclaimed news program Democracy Now! and the extraordinary heroes who have moved our democracy forward.
In 1996 Amy Goodman started a radio show called Democracy Now! to focus on the issues that are underreported or ignored by mainstream news coverage. Shortly after September 11, 2001, they were broadcasting on television every weekday. Today it is the only public media in the US that airs simultaneously on satellite and cable television, radio, and the Internet. Now Amy and her journalist brother, David, share stories of the progressive heroes - the whistleblowers, the organizers, the protestors - who have brought about remarkable, often invisible change over the last two decades in seismic ways.
This book looks back over the past 20 years of Democracy Now! and considers that as the courts and government abdicate their responsibilities, it has fallen to ordinary people to hold the powerful to account. Amy gives voice to these leaderful - not leaderless - movements: the countless charismatic leaders who are taking to the streets in Ferguson, Staten Island, Wall Street, and other places where people are rising up to demand justice. This is the guiding principle of Democracy Now!, which is front and center in this powerful, important work.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

this is awesome

if you listen to DemocracyNow! then you'll definitely love this! I highly recommend it to those looking for truth in journalism. lots of love to DemocracyNow!
Read full review

- Michael Garcia

Everyone needs to read this book.

Love Amy Goodman and Democracy Now! If only our MSM was even half as truthful. I thought I had a pretty good grasp on events over the last 20 years. The more I learn, the more I can't ever go back to my naive bubble.
Read full review

- Susan L Janecky

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-12-2016
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio