Dear Ijeawele, or A Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions

  • by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Narrated by January LaVoy
  • 1 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From the best-selling author of Americanah and We Should All Be Feminists comes a powerful new statement about feminism today - written as a letter to a friend.
A few years ago, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie received a letter from a dear friend from childhood, asking her how to raise her baby girl as a feminist. Dear Ijeawele is Adichie's letter of response.
Here are 15 invaluable suggestions - compelling, direct, wryly funny, and perceptive - for how to empower a daughter to become a strong, independent woman. From encouraging her to choose a helicopter and not only a doll as a toy if she so desires; having open conversations with her about clothes, makeup, and sexuality; debunking the myth that women are somehow biologically arranged to be in the kitchen making dinner and that men can "allow" women to have full careers, Dear Ijeawele goes right to the heart of sexual politics in the 21st century. It will start a new and urgently needed conversation about what it really means to be a woman today.


What the Critics Say

"January LaVoy's narration of this short work is intentional, assertively warm, and grounded.... There is wisdom in her voice conveying a lived experience." (AudioFile)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Feminism 101

Amazing. This is an absolute must read for all parents, moms and dads to boys and girls.
Read full review

- Mikaylin

This should be required reading for all humans.

This book should be required reading, not just for the parents of baby girls, but for all adult humans. I bought both the Kindle and Audible versions of this book, and I know I'll refer to both versions regularly.

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie dispenses some serious wisdom with honesty, warmth, and compassion. I can't recommend this more highly. Loved it.
Read full review

- dinogirl

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-07-2017
  • Publisher: Random House Audio