C Street

  • by Jeff Sharlet
  • Narrated by Jeremy Guskin
  • 8 hrs and 57 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

C Street - where piety, politics, and corruption meet....
Jeff Sharlet is the only journalist to have reported from inside the C Street House, the Fellowship residence known simply by its Washington, D.C., address. The house has lately been the scene of notorious political scandal, but more crucially, it is home to efforts to transform the very fabric of American democracy. And now, after laying bare its tenants' past in The Family, Sharlet reports from deep within fundamentalism in today's world, revealing that the previous efforts of religious fundamentalists in America pale in comparison with their long-term ambitions.

When Barack Obama entered the White House, headlines declared the age of culture wars over. In C Street, Sharlet shows why these conflicts endure and why they matter now - from the sensationalism of Washington sex scandals to fundamentalism's long shadow in Africa, where Ugandan culture warriors determined to eradicate homosexuality have set genocide on simmer.

We've reached a point where piety and corruption are not at odds but one and the same. Reporting with exclusive sources and explosive documents from C Street, the war on gays in Uganda, and the battle for the soul of America's armed forces - waged by a 15,000-strong movement of officers intent on "reclaiming territory for Christ in the military" - Sharlet reveals not the last gasp of old-time religion but the new front lines of fundamentalism.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not Much Of A Sequel

If you read The Family, save your time and money. If you haven't read The Family, get that book first. And I *highly* suggest you get The Family.
Read full review

- Paul

must read book

this book gives insight and deep understanding of why so many people are asking 'what the he'll is going on in America now?' must read.
Read full review

- Chatty Chap

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-27-2010
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio