Beyond Good and Evil

  • by Friedrich Nietzsche
  • Narrated by Steven Crossley
  • 7 hrs and 27 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Friedrich Nietzsche's Beyond Good and Evil, first published in 1886, presents a scathing critique of traditional morality and attacks previous philosophers for their blind acceptance of Christian ideals of virtue. As an alternative to what he viewed as the illogical and irrelevant philosophy of the nineteenth century, Nietzsche argues for the importance of imagination, self-assertion, danger, and originality for genuine philosophy. He furthermore denies the existence of a universal system of morality and instead offers a framework in which social roles and power dynamics dictate what is appropriate. A culmination of Nietzsche's mature philosophy, Beyond Good and Evil is a classic of moral thought and one of the foundations of existentialism. This edition is the translation by Helen Zimmern.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Steven Crossley Nails It!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

One of Nietzsche's best works.

What about Steven Crossley’s performance did you like?

The narrator Steven Crossley did a superb job of capturing all of the nuances of Nietzcshe's writing. It was almost as if he was channeling Nietzsche. Great job. His voice is very easy to listen to as well. I could listen to him for hours.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?


Read full review

- Philip

Difficult to understand

I admittedly listened to only a little of this book (somewhat into the first chapter) but that is because the narrator spoke very dramatically with, annoyingly, a strong modulation in volume. Some words would be loud but then some would be inaudible. This is a particular problem with Nietzsche since he often looks at subtle concepts where hearing even the prepositions is important to grasping his point. Therefore, I switched to the narration by Alex Jennings which is better (and which uses a translation that also includes brief notes before each chapter).
Read full review

- Jonathan G

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-28-2011
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio