Winter's Revenge : Guy Winter Mysteries

  • by James Philip
  • Narrated by Melanie Fraser
  • Series: Guy Winter Mysteries
  • 9 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Winter's Revenge is the second full length Guy Winter mystery. It is set in England in the Second World War at the time of the Battle of Britain and the beginning of the devastating night Blitz of London in September 1940.
London reels under the onset of the Blitz as every night hundreds of Luftwaffe bombers unload their cargoes of death over the beleaguered city.
On the ground as the new brutal realities of the war are brought home to every citizen, the Ripper continues his rampage and the last secrets of Guy Winter's life are stripped away. As the bombs fall the mystery man unravels one mystery after another, knowing that sooner rather than later he must confront his deadliest foe.
This time it is not just Guy Winter's life and loyalties that are under the microscope. Under the Luftwaffe's reign of terror the past mistakes of friends and enemies alike suddenly come home to roost, but Guy Winter never stops hunting his man.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great Series

I'm really enjoying this series. The writing is wonderful. The narrator is great. I do believe I've also downloaded the actual ebooks to read. The 'problem' with audio books is keeping all the names straight - especially the British upper crust three name names evident in this book, so it might clarify things reading the book itself. As well, with audiobooks there's the tendency to get distracted by something else, or, in my case a lot of the time, waiting for the bus - getting drowned out by traffic. However, one I can enjoy listening to again.

This book is a continuation of the Guy Winter Mysteries first listened to in Winter's Pearl, and Winter's War and answered some of the questions left in those books, and continuing to develop the characters we'd met previously.

I never like giving spoilers of books I've read or listened to - some readers are okay with it, but I'm afraid of giving away to much. Suffice it to say, Winters and Ransom continue their search for the killers of women set up in Winter's War amid personal hardships and obstacles partially due to the war going on around them.

I think George Ransom is becoming my favourite character!
Read full review

- Kelly Kenrick

Better than the first

Note: I was voluntarily provided this free review copy audiobook by the author, narrator, or publisher.

The second entry of the Guy Winter series brings us the answer to who's been killing off the Pearls (a group of female spies posing as - or for real - "ladies of the night"). I admit that the author's writing style can sometimes leave me confused as to what is going on (or maybe I was zoning out at times due to external distractions) but for the most part I could follow along okay. Once again, the story comes to a semi-climax (as in, we don't get the full account of events as they are happening) and ends abruptly by use of an epilogue in the form of a police report. I suppose this is the type of framework the author has settled on for these novels, but it feels a scoch off-putting. That might just be me though.

Once again the narrator, Melanie Fraser, does an excellent job of bringing the characters to life. She gives us a feeling of authenticity for the setting and the people of that time.

Second note: This is not a standalone novel. It's advisable to read/listen to the first book in the series to understand what's going on in this one.
Read full review

- Terminator Fan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-09-2016
  • Publisher: J.P. Coldham