Winterlong : Carter Blake

  • by Mason Cross
  • Narrated by Eric Meyers
  • Series: Carter Blake
  • 12 hrs and 53 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A deadly game of cat and mouse filled with high-stakes tension, Winterlong is the must-hear new thriller for fans of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne.
It's been five years since Carter Blake parted ways with the top-secret government operation Winterlong. They brokered a deal at the time: he'd keep quiet about what they were doing, and in return he'd be left alone. But news that one of Blake's old allies is dead, a man who agreed to the same deal, means only one thing: something has changed and Winterlong is coming for him.
Emma Faraday, newly appointed head of the secret unit, is determined to tie up loose ends. And Blake is a very loose end. He's been evading them for years, but finally they've picked up his trace. Blake may be the best there is at tracking down people who don't want to be found, but Winterlong taught him everything he knows. If there's anyone who can find him - and kill him - it's them.
It's time for Carter Blake to up his game.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

WINTERLING EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT

This book is EXCELLENT!! Just in case you didn't see it my headline.
I really enjoyed the first two books in this series (Hunting Season and The Samaritan). Both of those books hinted at a very secretive past with a shadowy organization. The first two also allude to reasons this organization has decided to allow him to live. Carter Blake is a man with a moral code who does not believe in collateral damage of innocents.
This book surprised me by answering all the questions brought up in the first two books. Winterlong turns out to be the name of the program he was in, it is also the same agency that wants to kill him. The story goes back and forth from past to present as the agency once again is hot on his trail and killing those associated with him. Two others left the agency when he did and they have been murdered even with their insurance.
To complicate things just a little more Carter has an unwilling travel partner. A mange has apprehended who stole some valuable software from a startup company. Now he can't let him go because of his own ethics, he doesn't want him to become collateral damage.
The book comes to an explosive yet satisfying ending with the promise of future books.
Eric Myers gives an excellent performance. His voice really fits the characters.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.
Read full review

- shelley

Very outstanding suspense thriller!!

Winterlong is the third outstanding novel in the Carter Blake suspense series by Mason Cross. All three easily earn 5 stars. These novels should probably be recognized as of the espionage genre. Winterlong answers several questions about Carters Blake's past that The Killing Season ans The Samaritan left cloaked in secrecy. In this novel the author uses flashbacks, mostly to Carter Blake in Afghanistan, to answer some of the open questions from earlier in the series. Narration by Eric Meyers is stellar.

I very highly recommend Winterlong, but suggest listening to The Killing Season and The Samaritan first.
Read full review

- Wayne "I love espionage, legal, and detective thrillers but listen to most genres. Very frequent reviews. No plot spoilers! Please excuse my typos!"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 02-07-2017
  • Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.