White Nights: A Thriller : Shetland Island

  • by Ann Cleeves
  • Narrated by Gordon Griffin
  • Series: Shetland Island
  • 11 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this second audiobook of the Shetland Quartet to feature Inspector Jimmy Perez, the launch of an exhibition at The Herring House art gallery is disturbed by a stranger who bursts into tears, then claims not to remember who he is or where he comes from. The next day he's found dead, wearing a clown's mask. Set in mid-summer, the audiobook captures the unsettling nature of a landscape where the sun never quite sets and where people are not as they first seem.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Totally input-down-able! More please!

Any additional comments?

I was first introduced to Anne Cleeves' Shetland series via the BBC's televised series, which I loved. The books are much much better and beautifully read by Gordon Griffin, whose accent is spot-on but remains perfectly accessible to non-Scots. The mystery remained whole until the last fifteen minutes and I would have never guessed the identity of the culprit. But added to the suspense, there is the unfolding of Jimmy Perez, the main detective's, new romance with Fran, as well as the wonderful sense of place and an introduction to the Shetland Island's customs. I thoroughly recommend this audiobook.

Read full review

- Amazon Customer "parissa_nahani"

Thriller? Not

Is there anything you would change about this book?

First, I would not have so much introspection on the part of the lead detective, going on and on about "does she like me or doesn't she" etc. and it took up way too much time and made the overall story very slow. Next, I would not have the point of view shift between so many characters. This made it hard to figure out whose voice we were hearing. Also, the two main leads had such similar accents that it was very hard to tell who was speaking. The reader did a good job with the females, though.

Read full review

- Katie N. Harper "hermione"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-31-2015
  • Publisher: Macmillan Audio