Where Roses Never Die : Varg Veum

  • by Gunnar Staalesen
  • Narrated by Colin Mace
  • Series: Varg Veum
  • 8 hrs and 26 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

September 1977. Mette Misvãr, a three-year-old girl, disappears without trace from the sandpit outside her home.
Her tiny, close middle-class community in the tranquil suburb of Nordas is devastated, but their enquiries and the police produce nothing. Curtains twitch, suspicions are raised, but Mette is never found.
Almost 25 years later, as the expiry date for the statute of limitations draws near, Mette's mother approaches PI Varg Veum in a last, desperate attempt to find out what happened to her daughter. As Veum starts to dig, he uncovers an intricate web of secrets, lies and shocking events that have been methodically concealed.
When another brutal incident takes place, a pattern begins to emerge.
Chilling, shocking and full of extraordinary twists and turns, Where Roses Never Die reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good story, Interesting characters...Its a sequel

I wish Audible had indicated this book is a second in a series ! It was a good book anyway and the characters (especially main) were worth the time investment. Great Narrator.
Read full review

- Lizzystick


This reminds me a bit of a Jane Marpke mystery. In the small world this detective moves in, he simply visits and revisits the small cast of characters until he solves the puzzle. I was surprised at the last chapter solution. The author sets a steady pace and invites the reader to join him in quietly questioning everyone. This is a fascinating book.
Read full review

- Donna Seidel

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-01-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios