Regular price: $27.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Before she started hosting dinners for Indiana University's Sociology Department at Pans 'N' Pancakes, Robbie never imagined scholarly meetings could be so hostile. It's all due to Professor Charles Stilton, who seems to thrive on heated exchanges with his peers and underlings, and tensions flare one night after he disrespects Robbie's friend, graduate student Lou.
So when Robbie and Lou go snowshoeing the next morning and find the contentious academic frozen under ice, police suspect that Lou might have killed him after their public tiff. To prove her friend's innocence, Robbie is absorbing local gossip about Professor Stilton's past and developing her own thesis on the homicide - even if that means stirring up terrible danger for herself along the way.
©2017 Edith Maxwell (P)2017 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Beatrice on 04-14-17


This is a typical mystery that follows the cozy mystery formula. The narrator didn't help. She makes the lead character sound like she's 57 instead of 27. It's not bad, it's just mediocre.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

By Juan Carrillo on 07-18-17

Tasty treat once more

Would you listen to When the Grits Hit the Fan again? Why?

Yes Robbie is like an old friend who u just want to talk to every time and have a meal with.

What other book might you compare When the Grits Hit the Fan to and why?

There really isn't one I could compare with because this is a series that does not depend on gross but depends more on being smart and quick.

Have you listened to any of Laural Merlington’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No I need to find more of her performances

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I see Robbie as a person almost and love her relationship with Abbe love we're the story is going.

Any additional comments?

Can't wait for the next part.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc