When Shadows Fall : Samantha Owens

  • by J. T. Ellison
  • Narrated by Joyce Bean
  • Series: Samantha Owens
  • 11 hrs and 9 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Dear Dr. Owens,
If you are reading this letter, I am dead and I would be most grateful if you could solve my murder… Forensic pathologist Dr. Samantha Owens thought life was finally returning to normal after she suffered a terrible personal loss. Settling into her new job at Georgetown University, the illusion is shattered when she receives a disturbing letter from a dead man imploring her to solve his murder. There's only one catch. Timothy Savage's death was so obviously the suicide of a demented individual that the case has been closed. When Sam learns Savage left a will requesting she autopsy his body, she feels compelled to look into the case. Sam's own postmortem discovers clear signs that Savage was indeed murdered. And she finds DNA from a kidnapped child whose remains were recovered years earlier. The investigation takes Sam into the shadows of a 20-year-old mystery that must be solved to determine what really happened to Timothy Savage. Nothing about the case makes sense but it is clear someone is unwilling to let anyone, especially Samantha Owens, discover the truth.


What the Critics Say

"[Ellison's] ability to neatly tie together the mysterious clues helps make this a standout in the romantic thriller subgenre." (Publishers Weekly Starred Review)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Lots of twists and turns

Too many unexplained flaws in the end. Had all the possibilities of a strong 4 up til the prologue. The majority of the characters were well drawn and the narrator was very good.
Read full review

- Dixie

Good chic lit

hate to say it but JT is getting formulaic....a sprinkle of this and a spoonful of that, stir up the plot and you've got another JT Elliison romantic mystery thriller....; not too hot, not too cold, but just right for those who adore her.
Read full review

- Janie O'brien

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-31-2014
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio