• by Ian Rankin
  • Narrated by John Lee
  • 8 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From number-one international bestseller Ian Rankin, an unlucky spy gets one last chance at redemption.Miles Flint is a spy who has been making some serious mistakes. His last assignment led to the death of a foreign official in London, and after getting too close to his current subject he wound up in police custody. But something is wrong at the agency that has nothing to do with Miles' errors. Why did his last suspect know more about Miles' assignment than Miles did? Why have so many operatives recently resigned? Despite the Director's assurances, Miles begins his own investigation, to the dismay of his colleagues and even his own wife. Then Miles is sent to Belfast on a routine mission, a mission that confirms his darkest suspicions: and threatens his life.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Things fall apart....

This audiobook has two things going for it.

Ian Rankin wrote it. The blurb here on Audible doesn't tell you it was written in the '80s, but Rankin does, in a forward to this edition. I think I've read nearly all of Rankin's novels, and enjoyed them all, this one no less.

John Lee read it. He has to be one of my favorite readers. He really brings Rankin's dialog to life, and seems to effortlessly navigate all the myriad dialects of English. His accents are always subtle; he never falls into the trap of allowing an accent to overpower the dialog. Lee is an artist.

If you've read any of my reviews, you know I like spy novels. In my estimation, a bad spy novel deserves death by firing squad. Luckily, this is one of the better ones.
Read full review

- carl801

I want more...

I really enjoyed the narrator's rendition of this whip-smart spy story. His characterizations and mastery of the Scots and Irish brogues were music to my ears. The protagonist is all too human, and very sympathetic. Although the plot is involved, I was easily able to follow the intricacies. I loved it!
Read full review

- Tracy

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-11-2007
  • Publisher: Books on Tape