Regular price: $23.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $23.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

They say a painting can have a life of its own...
In the case of Ghosts in the Mind by Henry Sebastian Hubert, that’s more than just an expression. This painting is reputed to come to life - and to bring death. The artist was a friend of Lord Byron and Mary Shelley, joining them in Switzerland during 1816, "the year without a summer". That was when they all explored themes of horror and depravity in their art....
Now, almost 200 years later, the painting appears in New Orleans. Wherever it goes, death seems to follow. Danielle Cafferty and Michael Quinn, occasional partners in solving crime, are quickly drawn into the case. They begin to make connections between that summer in Switzerland and this spring in Louisiana. Danni, the owner of an eccentric antiques shop, and Quinn, a private detective, have discovered that they have separate but complementary talents when it comes to investigating unusual situations.
Trying to blend their personal relationship with the professional lives they’ve stumbled into, they learn how much they need each other. Especially as they confront this work of art - and evil. The people in the portrait might be dead, but something seems to wake them and free them to commit bloody crimes. Cafferty and Quinn must discover what that is. And they have to destroy it - before it destroys them.
©2014 Heather Graham Pozzessere (P)2014 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
2 out of 5 stars
By Jess M on 05-02-15

That's not Scottish.

I'm not sure what accent the person reading is attempting for Billy, it's indescribable and definitely NOT Scottish. It really takes away from the reading. If the same person reads the next book, I'll be taking a pass.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Hannah Desmond on 08-25-17

This is my favorite Heather Graham book to date

Where does Waking the Dead rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

It is definitely one of my favorites in this genre. I'm from New Orleans so I appreciate the setting. I recognize where they are. The only thing she really gets wrong is the bit about sweet tea. I lived in New Orleans my whole life and no body asked me for sweet tea. It is not a THING in NOLA. When you get to GA, SC, NC then you start hearing about sweet tea. People in NOLA drink strong coffee and lots of liquor. The characters in this book are so likeable, believable and smart.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Waking the Dead?

When Danni starts sleep walking and walks down the staircase to start painting while she is asleep.

Have you listened to any of Natalie Ross’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

I listened to the other Heather Graham books. I really like Natalie Ross's performance. She gets the different voices perfectly.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

no, I don't do that. I listen in my car and sometimes at night lying in bed.

Any additional comments?

I hope there will be a lot more Cafferty and Quinn books. I like them a lot better than the Krewe of Hunters.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews