Vanishing Point : Miss Silver

  • by Patricia Wentworth
  • Narrated by Diana Bishop
  • Series: Miss Silver
  • 8 hrs and 24 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Nothing much ever seemed to happen in the sleepy village of Hazel Green apart from the occasional tea party, spiced with local gossip. Until Maggie Bell went out one evening for a breath of fresh air and never came back.
Could Maggie's disappearance be linked to security leaks at the nearby Air Ministry? Or is a sinister scheme being hatched closer to home? Miss Silver is called in to solve the mystery, just as a second person goes missing....

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Thoroughly Engrossing British Mystery

Any additional comments?

For fans of Agatha Christie, Patricia Wentworth's classic British mysteries are a real find. Miss Silver is the retired governess turned private sleuth whose Victorian manners and morals are pure, proper, and good, and whose gimlet mind fastens vise-like on the telling details that explode the mystery. In this story, a wicked witch-like older woman terrorizes and bullies her young niece and the niece's little sister. Enter a strong, sensible, knight in shining armor and Miss Silver to put things right. The old fashioned charm of Wentworth's books is by no means sentimental or unintelligent; great word smithery is evident in each paragraph. This narrator was born to read these books--her tones and inflections are exactly right for the period and the atmosphere, and each character has a distinct, consistent voice. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

Read full review

- Constance

Excellent Listen

If you could sum up Vanishing Point in three words, what would they be?

Interesting characters (both good and bad!), romance, a good mystery.


What does Diana Bishop bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

She gets the characters just right and brings the era to life. Very pleasant listen.


Any additional comments?

I love the way the romance was handled. You pulled for them, and I loved hating the "bad guy". Patricia Wentworth is an excellent writer. This book is very much along Agatha Christie lines. A terrific listen.

Read full review

- John L

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-14-2012
  • Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd