Until the Debt Is Paid : Jan Tommen Investigation

  • by Alexander Hartung, Steve Anderson (translator)
  • Narrated by Jeff Cummings
  • Series: Jan Tommen Investigation
  • 8 hrs and 19 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Berlin detective Jan Tommen expected to wake up with a hangover - not a murder charge. But a well-known judge has been brutally killed and hard evidence places Jan at the crime scene. When disturbing gaps in Jan’s memory make finding an alibi impossible, the case against him looks open and shut.
Faced with life on the inside, Jan flees police custody to take refuge with an old friend deeply enmeshed in the capital’s seedy underworld. Hampered by a citywide manhunt, Jan soon finds that investigating leads while eluding capture isn’t easy. Before long, he’s relying on a team of misfits for help, including an icy blonde medical examiner and a brilliant but reclusive computer whiz.
When a lucky break leads Jan to connect the murders to a heinous trafficking ring, the team risks it all to find answers. Meanwhile, the body count continues to rise and the police department starts to close in. Desperate to prove his innocence, Jan must identify the true killer - before his time finally runs out.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


I was apprehensive about a novel set in Berlin and translated, concerned that the names and places could lead to confusion, so I waited quite awhile before listening. Need not of worried, story was complex but in a good way. Kept me guessing till the very end. Great character and story development. Will definitely listen to other novels by this author.
Narration was done well.
Read full review

- Dellyn

Excellent mystery novel with excellent narration

This book was a very pleasant surprise. Written in German and set in Berlin, it is a cop story. The twist at the end surprised me, and it is worth listening to the story just to feel the surprise. I've complained about narrator Jeff Cummings and his weird voices in prior reviews, but he does a fine job here.
Read full review

- Wayne

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-04-2014
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio