Unraveling Oliver

  • by Liz Nugent
  • Narrated by Sam O'Mahony
  • 6 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

In this "compelling, clever, and dark" (Heat magazine) thriller, a man's shocking act of savagery stuns a local community - and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very end. This work of psychological suspense, a number-one best seller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware.
"I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her."
So begins Liz Nugent's astonishing debut novel - a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil.
Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children's books; their life together is one of enviable privilege and ease - until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious and subsequently beats her into a coma.
In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple's friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation.
With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

this book was amazing !!!!!!!!

I am so glad I bought the audible version of this book. Excellent narrators with different accents really brought this book to life. The story is so well developed and I did not want it to be over when I finished it.
Read full review

- Sharise Thompson

Excellent Book!!!

What an original story, it kept me mesmerized! The narration was amazing and I did not want it to stop!
Read full review

- Gerri

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-22-2017
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio