Regular price: $37.30

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $37.30

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Laura Lippman, and Paula Hawkins comes Holly Seddon's arresting fiction debut: an engrossing thriller full of page-turning twists and turns, richly imagined characters, and gripping psychological suspense.
Some secrets never die. They're just locked away.
Alex Dale is lost. Destructive habits have cost her a marriage and a journalism career. All she has left is her routine: a morning run until her body aches, then a few hours of forgettable work before the past grabs hold and drags her down. Every day is treading water, every night is drowning. Until Alex discovers Amy Stevenson. Amy Stevenson, who was just another girl from a nearby town until the day she was found after a merciless assault. Amy Stevenson, who has been in a coma for fifteen years, forgotten by the world. Who, unbeknownst to her doctors, remains locked inside her body, conscious but paralysed, reliving the past.
Soon Alex's routine includes visiting hours at the hospital, then interviews with the original suspects in the attack. But what starts as a reporter's story becomes a personal obsession. How do you solve a crime when the only witness lived, but cannot tell the tale? Unable to tear herself away from uncovering the unspeakable truth, Alex realises she's not just chasing a story she's seeking salvation.
Shifting from present to past and back again, Try Not to Breathe unfolds layer by layer until its heart-stopping conclusion. The result is an utterly immersive, unforgettable debut.
©2016 Holly Seddon (P)2016 Bolinda
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Martha on 09-29-16

Captivating but expected.

Wonderful storytelling! This novel really captures my attention and I listened to it rather quickly because I was anticipating a shocking revelation in the end. However, the actual conclusion and solving of the case was somewhat boring and easily anticipated. It was still a very well written, suspenseful book, though!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Miss Claire A Phipps on 01-08-17

Be patient gets better

Starts off slow but then becomes good and you don't want to put down. Good narration and you get a feeling of the characters

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful


By Pete on 12-02-16

If you can get over annoying irritating inflections in speech of two readers it's worth listening to.

I almost gave up after a couple of hours simply because of the male narrator's irritatingly inflection in his voice. When he was 'into ' his character this was less obvious , he's actually a good reader with lots of colour and expression , but I won't buy another audible book with him reading. When I first heard the female journalist's voice I thought 'oh no! Same inflection " I figured whoever picked the two readers must like this kind of voice. The voice of the 'girl' was excellent . To me if the voices aren't to my liking I find it hard to enjoy. The story was okay, easy listening , worth reading even with it's fairly abrupt ending . Nothing special but glad I got to end. It's not in the same ball park of Gillian Flynn or Paula Hawkins but perfect to entertain when doing something mundane - long drive , ironing etc...

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Heidi on 05-07-16

Complex mystery, chilling theme

Really enjoyed this engaging mystery with its complex and flawed main protagonist, which kept me guessing until the end - and when I thought I had worked it all out, I was wrong! I found the theme of a young victim in a coma who cannot disclose her perpetrator chilling, and really enjoyed the way Alex solves the mystery step by step, pulling the reader along in her wake. A wonderful debut novel, I look forward to reading a lot more from this author in future.
Loved the audible narration, which featured 3 different narrators for the 3 main characters in the book - a solid performance which kept me entertained throughout.

Read More Hide me

8 of 8 people found this review helpful


By Amazon Customer on 04-01-17

excellent

Great audiobook . well written. really drew me in. the narrators were fantastic. highly recommend

Read More Hide me

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc